Mess or Masterpiece


We have an ongoing joke in my family about my desire to stay clean.  There have been countless instances where me and my father-in-law have decided to tackle another project around the house and when we are finished, he looks like he’s been playing in the mud and I look like I watched him from a distance.  Now, I’m all about working hard and don’t mind getting dirty… I just don’t like to stay dirty.  In all honesty, if there’s a way for me to not get dirty, I’ll more than likely opt for the clean option.

The reality of life is that you can only do that so long.  You can only try to avoid getting your hands dirty for so long before you have no choice but to jump in.  As I reflect on my life, I find that more times than not, I fight for order.  “I must stick to the plan.”  I am a very analytical person by nature.  Not much of a risk taker.  I make calculated decisions, or at least try to.  So when “plans” change, it’s not always easy.

The truth is that the Gospel calls us into the mess.  The Gospel informs us to continue to move from our state of brokeness and run to Jesus.  So we are constantly moving closer to Jesus.  Before you know it, life gets messy… and quick.  Relationships change.  Plans change.  Your life changes because we are constantly reorienting our life to center on Jesus and the Gospel and we press others into that as well.  If you are like me, this isn’t always easy, because things can get dirty and sometimes ugly before they get cleaned up and beautiful.

But that’s ok.  In talking to a friend the other day, he reminded me of that.  Life will get messy but that’s ok because God is really good at cleaning things up as only He can.  It’s ok because God is worth the mess.  Ultimately, when God looks at our lives, he doesn’t see a mess at all.  He sees us as His workmanship.  He sees us as His masterpiece.  And He gets all the glory as the artist who really knows better than anyone else just how beautiful the art really is.  Jump in.

For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
neither are your ways my ways, declares the LORD.
For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
so are my ways higher than your ways
and my thoughts than your thoughts.
Isaiah 55:8-9 ESV

Leave a Reply

